Homemade Toothpaste with Coconut Oil

clean, cleanliving, diy, do-it-yourself, empowerment, essential oils, gluten-free, health, home project, homemade, homeopath, homeopathic, natural living, non-gmo, organic, peppermint, pure, recipe, smooth lips, soothing, toothpaste, wellness

Have you ever looked at the ingredients in your store bought toothpaste?

DELETE

Yeah, I didn’t either until I started caring more about what I put in and on my body.   The ingredients listed below that I am most concerned about are the sodium laurel sulfate, carrageenan, “flavor,” and sodium hydroxide. According to http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/002487.htm, sodium hydroxide is found in many industrial solvents and cleaners, including flooring stripping products, brick cleaners, cements, and may also be found in certain household products, including:  aquarium products, drain cleaners, hair straighteners, metal polishes and oven cleaners, etc.  Sooooo, why is it in our toothpaste?!

So, over the weekend, I ran out of toothpaste.  I need to save money, so I figured I’d make my own toothpaste.  I found a recipe on Pinterest and tweaked it a little bit to my liking.

You simply mix all of these ingredients in a bowl, scoop it into your container, and you’re done!  Tada!  My, my, that is some tasty-looking frosting toothpaste.  It is about the same consistency as store-bought toothpaste.

image

Peppermint Toothpaste

1/4 cup + 2 TB coconut oil, softened
1/4 cup aluminum-free baking soda
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
1 tsp bentonite clay (I used liquid bentonite)
½ tsp liquid pure stevia
10-15 drops peppermint essential (see note in red below)
5 drops thyme essential oil
5 drops of myrhh essential oil

In a medium bowl, combine the coconut oil and baking soda.  Mix thoroughly.  Add in the remaining ingredients and mix.  Store in a jar or a squeezable bottle.  (Note: When mixing bentonite clay, please use a wood or plastic spoon.  Bentonite clay should not come in contact with metal because it deactivates the clay’s detoxifying properties.  Bentonite clay isn’t necessary for this recipe, it is an added benefit).

So, how simple is that?!

UPDATE:  Since I started using this toothpaste, my mouth and teeth feel cleaner, my teeth look whiter, and my lips aren’t so dried out.  Usually, I apply chapstick as much as 20 times a day!  But, I feel that the coconut oil provides the needed moisture.  I am loving this toothpaste – my husband even loves it!

FYI – Not all essential oils are created equal.  Most oils are adulterated, contain fillers and contaminants and come from Lord-knows-where.  The oils I use give full disclosure of their countries of origin, and they are third-party tested for absolute purity.  They are 100% pure, therapeutic-grade, and extremely potent.  If you would like to use this brand, please comment below and I’d be happy to point you in the right direction.

**[PLEASE NOTE:  According to the compliance rules of the FDA, I am unable to disclose my favorite oil company’s name in the body of this blog, but you can comment below with your email address, and I’ll send you the link, along with some great educational materials on essential oils.]

2 thoughts on “Homemade Toothpaste with Coconut Oil

Leave a Reply

