BEST Homemade Deodorant – Better than Tom’s!

clean, cleanliving, crunchy, deodorant, diy, do-it-yourself, empowerment, essential oils, gifts, gluten-free, health, holistic, home project, homemade, homeopath, homeopathic, natural living, non-gmo, organic, pure, wellness

DELETE

This is by far THE BEST deodorant I have ever used.  No joke – and it comes from my very own kitchen.  I’ve tried so many natural deodorants, regular deodorants, etc., and they all make my pits smell funny.  I used to always think homemade products weren’t as effective – that was until I found essential oils.

First, some info:

Antiperspirants:

Unless you have been living under a rock for the past decade, you already know that antiperspirants contain aluminum salts, which stop you from sweating.  This may sound great to you, and give you confidence at a sweltering mid-summer BBQ party, but it is actually not a good thing.  Your underarm sweat glands are there for a reason – to release the sweat and toxins from your body to keep you healthy.

Did you know that whatever we put on our body is absorbed through our pores, and enters our blood stream within approximately 26 seconds?  Many products out there contain formaldehyde, parabens, mineral oils, petrolatum, etc., which soak right into your pores and swim around your blood stream looking for organs in which they can attach themselves and eventually mess up your body.

Not only do antiperspirants contain aluminum, they also irritate sensitive skin.  Even “all natural” brands can give people rashes or contain ingredients that aren’t 100% pure!  It’s just so hard to find real natural products, you know?

Deodorant:

Deodorant is a completely different product altogether.  Deodorants do not contain aluminum, so they allow you to sweat.  But they do somewhat mask the scent of your body odor – so at least you don’t stink!

Years ago, after going to a nutritionist, I learned that aluminum has been linked to many health issues, and that I would be better off making my own 100% natural deodorant.  To be honest, I wasn’t thrilled with the idea of using only a deodorant, and letting my sweat flow freely (Update: been using this now for a couple years and will never go back to store bought deodorant).

I first started out with drugstore deodorant.  Then, I learned more about harmful chemicals in our products, so I began using Tom’s natural deodorant from the health food store.  Tom’s didn’t mask the odor at all.  Maybe it’s worked for you, but as for me, not a fan.  Then, I joined Arbonne, and started using their all natural Pure Mint deodorant.  I love the smell of their deodorant, like sweet mint gum, but it was a little too pricey for my budget.

I ran out of my last stick of Arbonne deodorant yesterday morning, so I decided to make homemade organic deodorant last night.  I am happy to say that it works like a boss!  It has been almost 9 hours and no pit odor.  All you need are a few ingredients and 5-10 minutes to make your own.

I chose lavender, melaleuca (tea tree), wintergreen and/or peppermint oils.  The lavender and melaleuca have odor-masking properties.  Wintergreen is cool and has that minty/cooling scent that I loved in my old Arbonne deodorant.

Below is a step-by-step photo tutorial on how to make this deodorant.  The full recipe will be posted at the bottom of the page.  It makes an invisible-solid deodorant, that should last up to 3 months!  I had enough to fill up 2 deodorant sticks, and a 4 oz. glass jar.

First, I collected all of the materials I would need.  Small pot, measuring cup, all-natural beeswax, organic cold-pressed coconut oil, arrowroot powder, aluminum-free baking soda and my essential oils.  That’s it.

Next, heat up a small pot on the stove at a very low temp for a couple of minutes.  Once the pot is heated, drop in the coconut oil, add the beeswax and melt together at very low heat.  Once they have melted together, turn off the stove.

DELETE

Next, whisk in arrowroot powder and baking soda.  Once smooth, let it cool for about 15 minutes so that it isn’t hot.  Then, you can stir in your essential oils (so as not to be damaged by high heat).

DELETE

Take an empty deodorant stick container, or a small glass tub, and pour in the mixture until it tops off.

DELETE

Replace the lid and place it in the fridge to cool for a half an hour.  That’s it!

DELETE

Store your deodorant in a cool, dry place so that the coconut oil doesn’t melt during the day and leave you with a mess!  The bathroom is fine, unless your home is very warm.  In the summertime, storing it in the fridge would give you a nice, cool application.

You can experiment with your own oils.  Just be sure to have some oils with cleansing and odor-masking properties, such as melaleuca or lavender.  The one I made doesn’t have a strong scent, which is great for those who usually buy unscented deodorants from the store.

DIY DEODORANT RECIPE:

1/2 cup organic cold-pressed coconut oil
1.5 Tbs of organic beeswax pellets (I bought these)
1/4 cup Alumimum-free baking soda (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
1/4 cup arrowroot powder (or food grade Diatomaceous Earth, if allergic to arrowroot)
15 drops of melaleuca essential oil (see note in red below)
15 drops wintergreen, spearmint or peppermint essential oil
6 drops lavender essential oil

Heat up a small pot on the stove on very low heat.  You don’t want it bubbling, just warm enough to melt your ingredients.  Drop in the solid coconut oil, and beeswax pellets, and stir until melted together (the beeswax helps keep the deodorant firm, so that it doesn’t drip down your sides).

Stir in arrowroot powder and baking soda.  Let cool for about 15 minutes so that it isn’t hot, and then mix in your essential oils.  Pour into an empty deodorant stick tube, or in a glass jar with a tight lid.  Place in fridge to cool for 30 minutes.  Store in a cool, dry place so that the coconut oil doesn’t melt.

FYI – Not all essential oils are created equal.  Most oils are adulterated, contain fillers and contaminants and come from Lord-knows-where.  The oils I use give full disclosure of their countries of origin, and they are third-party tested for absolute purity.  They are 100% pure, therapeutic-grade, and extremely potent.  If you would like to use this brand, please comment below and I’d be happy to point you in the right direction.

**[PLEASE NOTE:  According to the compliance rules of the FDA, I am unable to disclose my favorite oil company’s name in the body of this blog, but you can comment below with your email address, and I’ll send you the link, along with some great educational materials on essential oils.]

If you need to purchase glass jars, roller ball bottles, deodorant sticks, etc., you can do so here:  www.aromatools.com or www.bulkapothecary.com.  Both are great stores.

Please let me know if you try this recipe and if you liked it.  Also, if you use different essential oils, I’d love to know which ones so that I can try it too!

 

Leave a Reply

